Who is a Debonoire?

/ˌdebəˈnwär/

adjective
  1. (of a young black man or woman) confident, stylish, worldly and sophisticated.

    My dad is Nigerian-British and was raised in Nigeria. My mum is Nigerian and was raised in Paris. Me? I’m a Nigerian who was raised between New York City, the Republic of Benin and Lagos, Nigeria. I have travelled to 62 cities worldwide, lived in 4 countries and visited 18. I speak English, French and Spanish. I graduated magna cum laude from Mount Holyoke College, one of the seven sisters. I am an entrepreneur who watches as much E! News as CNN. I would rather listen to Nigerian music than anything else. Ever. I am proudly African. I am arrogantly Nigerian. I am debonoire.
    For me, a Debonoire is someone who has a shared ancestry in Africa. They range from college students to young professionals who no matter where they find themselves in Africa or the Diaspora, are continuously investing in Africa’s future. They are consumed by wanderlust and seek to travel the world. More precisely, they seek to travel across Africa and experience its diversity locally, not just as international students who congregate abroad in African Student Associations. They are aspirational, ambitious and desperately seek to marry their parents’ culture with the culture they have been raised in. Debonoires in the Diaspora constantly contemplate living and working on the continent. Those on the continent are constantly looking for advancement opportunities abroad. Debonoires believe they can have it all and diligently work towards this goal.
    This blog is to entertain, inform and inspire the debonoire.

Photo credit: Ikire Jones and Loverista.com

This entry was published on June 13, 2014 at 3:57 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

